shopping_cart

About

The Improv Embassy is a theatre company dedicated to growing and showcasing improv, sketch and stand-up comedy in the capital. We teach classes for those looking to have fun and for those who wish to become performers. We produce shows in venues across the city and run the annual Ottawa Improv Festival each spring. We are a nonprofit founded and run by volunteers.

Our Story

oif2016
Closing night of the 2016 Ottawa Improv Festival.

The seeds of the Improv Embassy were planted with Experimental Farm Theatre, founded by Dani Alon and Chris Hannay in 2014 when they moved to Ottawa from Toronto. A few months later, Val Perelshtein, who had performed with EFT since shortly after its launch, proved indispensable as the fledgling company’s business director. The improvisers began producing shows in various venues around Ottawa in the summer of 2014, and began teaching improvisation in 2015. 

In the summer of 2016, the theatre company renamed itself the Improv Embassy, secured a studio in the downtown Rideau neighbourhood and officially incorporated as a non-profit. We later moved to a new studio in the Centretown neighbourhood.

Our comedians have been invited to perform in the Del Close Marathon in New York City, Toronto’s Big City Improv Festival, the Toronto Haroldfest, the Montreal Improv Festival, Montreal Sketchfest, Halifax’s East Coast Improv Festival and Ottawa’s Fresh Meat DIY Theatre Festival

We have put on the Ottawa Improv Festival for sold-out crowds at Arts Court Theatre in 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019. We’ve produced successful shows at the Ottawa Fringe Festival, such as the sketch revue EFT-up: Just Like You in 2015, and The Fake News Show and Quest Friends Forever in 2017.

We are also committed to helping the wider Ottawa community through workshops and fundraisers, raising money for distress centres and other charities.

Throughout our history, we could not have accomplished anything without the hard work, dedication and talent of the improvisers in our fast-growing community. Below is the current team making magic happen at the Embassy. If you see any of us around, say hello!

Improv Embassy In The News

CBC’s Ottawa Morning talks to Dani and Val about opening the Improv Embassy (August 23, 2016)

Metro Ottawa cover story: “Improv Embassy aims to be Ottawa’s comedic hub” (September 7, 2016)

Carleton University campus newspaper profiles Quest Friends Forever: A D&D Improv show (January 19, 2017)

CTV Morning Live host Henry Burris plays improv games with Val and Simon for the Ottawa Improv Festival (March 7, 2017)

CBC Radio’s All In A Day and In Town And Out programs talked to us about our Truth In Performance event (August 25 and 26, 2017)

Apt613: How the Improv Embassy got started and what the Ottawa Improv Festival is all about (Feb. 23, 2018)

We return to CTV Morning Live to play more improv games with host Henry Burris (March 1, 2018)

Apt613: Profile of the Fembassy Comedy Show (Sept. 11, 2018)

Faculty
Dani Alon
Longform 301, 501
dani@improvembassy.com
Melissa Britney
Intro to Improv
melissa@improvembassy.com
Gilbert El-Dick
Intro to Improv
gilbert@improvembassy.com
Chelsea Fahey
Longform 101
chelsea@improvembassy.com
Chris Hannay
Longform 401
chris@improvembassy.com
Nick Howe
Longform 101
nick@improvembassy.com
Laura Jarecsni
Intro to Improv
laura@improvembassy.com
Adriana Johnston
Intro to Improv
adriana@improvembassy.com
Alex Keenan
Longform 101
alex@improvembassy.com
Angus MacDonald
Longform 201
angus@improvembassy.com
Joshua Mayo
Intro to Improv
joshua@improvembassy.com
Woody McCadden
Longform 101, 201
woody@improvembassy.com
Krystal Merrells
Longform 101, Intro to Improv
krystal@improvembassy.com
Meghan Murphy
Intro to Improv
meghan@improvembassy.com
Deborah Ring
Longform 201, 401, Intro to Improv, Sketch Writing
deborah@improvembassy.com
Staff
Ayan Ali
Inclusion Coordinator
ayan@improvembassy.com
Dani Alon
Co-Founder, Artistic Director
dani@improvembassy.com
Lauren Banks
Chair, board of directors
lauren@improvembassy.com
Chris Hannay
Co-founder, board of directors
chris@improvembassy.com
Jennifer Lawrence
Secretary, board of directors
jennifer.L@improvembassy.com
Krystal Merrells
Corporate Liaison
krystal@improvembassy.com
María Cortes Puch
Vice-chair, board of directors
maria@improvembassy.com
Wynn Quon
Treasurer, board of directors
wynn@improvembassy.com
Lindsay Snow
Student Liaison
Lindsay@improvembassy.com
Eric Tran
Web Developer